Archive a space

You may want to archive a space if a project has been completed, if the space contains outdated information, or if you simply no longer need to have discussions in the space. When a space is archived, members will no longer be able to respond to threads in the space, and guests won't be able to access the space. You can unarchive a space any time.
 
To archive a space:
  1. Go to the space
  2. Click Settings (...) at the top of the space
  3. Select Archive space
  4. If the space is an organization, you can also archive it from the Organization's settings.
When a space is archived:
  1. Members will no longer be able to respond to threads in that space
  2. Guests will no longer be able to access the space
  3. Members and guests will no longer be able to edit the space name and details
Screen_Shot_2020-03-05_at_10.24.00_AM.png
 
What happens when I archive a space?
Access
  • Guests: Access is removed for any guests in the space. Guests are notified that the space has been archived, but can no longer access the space or any of the threads in it.
  • Organization members: All members and anyone who is directly added to the space are removed. However, anyone in the organization can still access the space.
  • No one can join the space
  • The space is hidden and can only be accessed by organization members from search or the organization's spaces tab.
Creation and editing
  • The ability to edit the space the space is turned off
  • The ability to create a thread is turned off
  • The ability to respond to a thread is turned off
  • The ability to delete or edit content is not turned off
Slack connection
  • The space will be disconnected from any Slack channels it was connected to
Everyone in the space will receive a notification that the space has been archived.
 
What happens if I archive a private space? 
Access
  • Guests: Access is revoked for any guests. They'll receive a notification that the space has been archived, but can no longer access the space or any of the threads in it.
  • Space members: All space members remain members, and can still access the space from search.
  • No one can join the space
  • The space is hidden and can only be accessed space members from search and their organization's spaces tab. 
Creation and editing
  • The ability to edit the space the space is turned off
  • The ability to create a thread is turned off
  • The ability to respond to a thread is turned off 
Slack connection
  • The space will be disconnected from any Slack channels it was connected to
Everyone in the space will receive a notification that the space has been archived.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful